What's new
VORON Design

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members!

Linear Rail Question

Good afternoon,

I had purchased a used Voron 2.4 V1. It worked great at first but quickly had some issues. I found that my MGN9 Linear Bearing/Rails have some issues. 1 the rails seemed to have not been cleaned from the factory. 2 what grease were on them was the wrong stuff and pretty thick. I removed my MGN9's from my printer and cleaned everything and greased with NLGI 1 white lithium grease. Im very new to 3D printing in general and still a noob with my Voron. I was wondering if there are sources that can help spec out better MGN9's for me. Im looking to source some new ones for the Switchwire I want to build plus maybe replace the ones I have on my 2.4 V1. Most of them work great but a few of them seem a little tight and have spots where they seem to catch even though they are clean and greased properly. Im looking for any information on this topic. I found great info on cleaning and tweaking MGN rails on youtube which did help some. I would like to know of any sourcing info, info on what brands are better than others, how to upgrade them. Thank you.

So Genuine HiWin are considered pretty good for the price. But the two sources in the US I buy rails from is Fabreeko for there HoneyBadger rails and West3D for there Beserker rails.

You can get rails to be good by cleaning and greasing yourself but those ones listed have been tested and proven.