What's new
VORON Design

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members!

Question First print off new printer,

ChrisA

I know about the tuning guide. I'll get around to that but just to start maybe someone knows what these defects are?

I just finished a V0.2 printer. The config is pure 100% stock from GitHub and I used the "Generic PLA" profile in Cura. This is the first part to come off the printer. I don't see any stringing and the round overhangs are all round. But notice some divots on one side of the hull. They are "stacked" and not random and they don't continue up the entire hull, also some horizontal lines and some very mild ringing. Then the worst defect, bed adhesion fails and the Benchy fell over.

I have no experience with textured beds like this. On my current, very old i# clone I use gluestick over bare aluminum. I've read that washing with soap and water can help.

Over all I'm happy but PLA is easy to print. My goal is to print functional robotic parts in glass-filled ABS or engineering-grade plastics.

Attachments

• 6B3590B1-D231-41C0-991F-50C9B46085F9_1_105_c.jpeg
    6B3590B1-D231-41C0-991F-50C9B46085F9_1_105_c.jpeg
    158.3 KB · Views: 10
  • 6789DF8A-DB96-4334-99B6-4CD89ADBC875_1_105_c.jpeg
    6789DF8A-DB96-4334-99B6-4CD89ADBC875_1_105_c.jpeg
    194.4 KB · Views: 10
  • C6305C48-B1C1-4FE0-9FA9-D2409EC691BA_1_105_c.jpeg
    C6305C48-B1C1-4FE0-9FA9-D2409EC691BA_1_105_c.jpeg
    166.2 KB · Views: 8
  • D99218D5-46BF-49C4-9053-0EC8F58B1BD1_1_105_c.jpeg
    D99218D5-46BF-49C4-9053-0EC8F58B1BD1_1_105_c.jpeg
    110.8 KB · Views: 10