What's new
VORON Design

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members!

software installation of btt octopus stm32f407 issue

brainkrud

I'm a newbie- I followed the Voron 2.4 software installation to a btt octopus- using the setup for the stm32f407 (32k, 8 Mhz, usb on pa11,pa12..)
When I uploaded via and SD card, and checked the serial id ($ls /dev/serial/by-id)
I got this:
usb-STMicroelectronics_MARLIN_BIGTREE_OCTOPUS_F429_CDC_in_FS_Mode_208134884230-if00

Which references the F429???? I can only access this for a couple of seconds, then the "serial" directory goes away. (I definitely have an STM32F407 - as written on the chip)

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Well, that also says "marlin" so it's clearly not the firmware you tried to load. The stock firmware must not distinguish between the 407 and the 429

I had a few issues loading firmware on my Ocotopus board - think it may be a bit picky about the SD card - have you tried another card?

Thanks- I didn't even notice the Marlin part. How is that possible? The board definitely updated when I plugged in the SD card (all the green lights eventually turned off) so something programmed- how could it program wrong- but still reference a processor and board? This is very strange.

Honestly, I can't speak to what the lights did, but I'm quite confident what you're seeing there is the stock firmware it came out of the box with.

I always find sd based flashing a bit issue prone. My suggestion would be to follow the dfu flashing process, also seen in the voron docs (as option b).

Unfortunately, there is a slight challenge there: there's a compatability issue with the version of dfu-util on mainsailos, and the 429 (which I think will also impact your much less common 407). if you run "dfu-util -V", and it tells you that it's version 0.9, I'd suggest this fix, courtesy of clee: