What's new
VORON Design

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members!

To kit or not to kit

korser

Hi,

I'm looking for advices on building a Trident. I've been wondering if I should use a kit or source it myself.

Some background info. I've been printing for a few years on a Prusa Mini, I got one of the early kit. While it's a solid printer it's slow and the build volume is relatively small. Last year I decided to mod it and rebuild it as a Mini Bear. I self sourced everything, even cutting the aluminum extrusion. I really enjoyed the research and the build process. I'd say the build was mostly mechanical with a tiny bit of electronic, crimping a few cables. My printer is a little bit faster but still small and really not the best to print ABS.

I wanted to build a Trident for a few reasons
1- I keep reading it's an easier printer to build for beginner
2- I'd like to add an ECRF later (Until recently I thought it was only for Trident)
3- I thought maybe one day making a Tridex to print ABS with soluble materials. (I'm still not sure about this especially with organic support)
4- Plate at the top for faster heating

I was looking at building a 300mm size with either a CW2 or Orbiter 2.0. I was thinking a Rapido HF as I don't really want to get into Revo ecosystem.
For the rest I was planning Tap Kit which I assume you don't need Z stopper anymore. I was thinking sensorless XY endstop with TMC2209 otherwise Hall effect.
CanBus with an SB2040, I don't want to deal with a lot of cables. Cables in general I would prefer having everything pre-crimp. Also going umbilical instead of chains.