What's new
VORON Design

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members!

2.4 Advice

Dtdionne

Greetings,

About to climb onboard.

I have no desire to build “my voron” (i don’t mean that in a bad way), i want to build a fast, rock solid, indestructible belt bed 350 voron workhorse for cranking out as many identical parts as fast and reliably as possible. ASA, PETG and carbon variants. The widget has 2 parts, a base and a cap and could be exposed to direct sunlight. It’s a fishing accessory.

I‘m just getting started with the research. I have moderate skills (built a 1969 Marshall Plexi 100w tube amp from parts) and I’m a veteran Unix/Linux expert with over 20 years of enterprise *nix experience on everything from spark, alpha, sgi to intel...but thats about it. I’ve also been blessed with mountains of time.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks and much love and respect!

A few questions come to mind:
  • Is there a particular reason you're looking at the 350mm version? Is the extra size a nice thing (would be nice to be able to occasionally print something bigger), or a need (regularly printing larger items)?
  • Do you need more than 240-250mm of height in the build volume?
  • Alternate question to the previous one: If you're looking at kits, do you need more than 290-300mm of height in the build volume?
  • Are you looking for a printer that's more like a tool/appliance, or a project?
  • Is there any particular aspect of the Voron 2.4 that draws you to it over other designs?

Hello and welcome to VORON community!

If you are technically inclined at least a bit - which you clearly are - assembling a VORON printer should not be difficult for you. Manuals are very detailed. Software part can be a bit tricky, but there are guides online and lots of folks willing to help.