What's new
VORON Design

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members!

First Voron - Trident

rabidporpoise

More of a calibration and tuning log, since I've already completed the bulk of the work, but I'm nearing "completion" of my first-ever Voron printer, a Trident.

Being my first build, I've tried to stay close to stock while incorporating minimal mods that make sense. Specifically, this printer has:

- Pins for all bearings and pulleys
- Tap probe
- Titanium backers for the X and Y extrusions
- CANbus between the main MCU and the toolhead

I know that a lot of people recommend against jumping into a CAN setup from the start, but while I'm new to building printers, I've had plenty of experience with CANbus from my BMWs. Actually, I found the CAN setup process to be pretty painless by following Klipper's instructions.

I know that one of the goals of the Voron project is "bang for the buck", but I aimed for a "premium" build here to see what kind of quality I can ultimately get. To that end, I've incorporated the following:

- Genuine MISUMI extrusions and roll-in nuts
- Oriental Motors PKP245MD15A2 steppers for the A and B drives
- HIWIN linear guides for all axes
- TMC5160T Pro drivers
- Octopus Pro board with BTT EBB42 tool head CAN board
- Sanyo-Denki SanAce fans for all applications
- Alpha Therm thermal fuses
- Mandala Rose Works ultra-flat magnetic bed
- EZO bearings for the F695 applications
- PTI GE5EC spherical plan bearings
- Genuine Gates pulleys, idlers, and belt
- TE/Tyco, Mean Well, and Omron for all electronics
- Igus drag chains, and ChainFlex cable for power
- SAB SD200CTP shielded, twisted pair flex cable for CAN lines
- Bondtech LGX Lite extruder
- Slice Engineering Mosquito hotend
- fibtip non-stick ceramic-coated nozzle
- Lots more

How much has this all cost? Shhhh....