What's new
VORON Design

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members!

Please check my thinking on a Trident kit

Dmitriy

I am a complete beginner at this – never built a printer before. I am ready to jump into a Trident 300 build. My objective is to have a printer that’s as ‘standard’ as possible for serviceability, parts availability in the future and the ease of the build. I want to be able to follow standard manuals without any deviations or upgrades (for now). I am considering a Formbot kit by the process of elimination. It seems to be as standard as possible. There is also anecdotal evidence that they’ve been improving parts quality over time.

Eliminated:

1) LDO – I am willing to pay for quality. But they got some non standard toolhead PCB and wiring. I am also not looking to be locked into the Revo ecosystem and depend on them for nozzles. A Dragon is good enough for me where there are plenty of sourcing options.

2) Fystec – appears to be a hit and miss on both quality and customer service.

3) Siboor – what’s up with purple? Color is a personal preference; but, purple is so...not neutral. More importantly the Spider board appears to be not so reputable. I’d rather go with a BTT. I also don’t know much about their quality. Aren’t hey new on the scene?

My plan is also to toss whichever the SBC a kit comes with. I already got a Raspberry PI 4. Additionally, I plan to source original Bondtech extruder gears. I also got a Dragon and a BTT 1.1 on the way. They will be spares if whichever the kit I select comes with the same.

Please let me know if I am missing any considerations.

Thanks