What's new
VORON Design

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members!

My questions to demystify Voron (2.4)

MichaelOToole

Printer Model
Voron 2.4
As I search for information to fully understand Voron, its concepts and variants, I end up with questions.
I've only one question right now but more will follow...

My premise for asking a series of questions in one thread is simple, all my questions relate to demystifying Voron for people new to it.
BTW, I'm not building my Voron because I need it, I already have three printers, I'm building it because it's so well engineered and look beautiful...
I'm a retired Electronics Engineer, what else would I do...

Question: (Related to CAN Boards)
  1. It look like adding a CAN Tool-board removes the need for many of the wires connecting the hot-end to the main board with many advantages right?
  2. It also look like there are different CAN boards, is this due to revisions or down to individual suppliers?
  3. The voltage for the fans can be set on all CAN boards?
Question 2: (Related to TBA)

1. yes, 4 wires total. its great
2. different form factors, like an EBB36 for a pancake motor, or an EBB42 for square, etc. theres also different manufacturers, but in general for form factors are the same
3. not on all. the mellow can to a degree, but it has its own issues. generally you can make 24 or 5v fans work fine. those voltages are at the toolhead.

Just realized there are two options, by default its the Toolhead PCB's, or optional Can Bus PCB's.
In either case, a corresponding board is required for Mainboard connection (Breakout PCB / USB to Can Bus PCB).

Last edited:
Rather than hijack another thread, I will add questions here and hope someone replies...

Question relates to Orbiter 2.0, Afterburner, CW2...
  • What exactly do I need to install my Orbiter 2.0?