What's new
VORON Design

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members!

Trident 250 -- My First Voron

brendanm720

I'm not new to 3D Printing, but I'm new to building 3D Printers. Because I don't have the capability to print ABS, I signed up for PIF back in 2021 when the queue was super long (figuring it would take around a year), and got my kit back before Stealthburner and Trident R1 dropped. 🤦‍♂️ BrewWeasel was my provider, and so far, everything looks fantastic.

This printer was self-sourced over the course of a year or so (to spread out costs) by obtaining the parts and parts kits (hardware, motors, motion, et cetera) in as few shopping trips as possible to save on shipping. West3D, DFH, and KB3D were my primary vendors.

Colors for this build are:
Frame -- LDO Space Gray
Primary -- Matterhackers Build ABS Black
Accent -- KVP Stellar Blue

I'm kind of kicking around a dark gray also for the skirts and the toolhead parts that would usually be the primary color. KVP Battleship is kind of what I have in mind.

To Kick things off, I put the kids to work opening up hardware and pulling the frame out of the box. The Frame is an LDO Space Gray model, and the Hardware is West3D's BDF Trident hardware kit. There was a bit of a problem in shipping -- The M5x10 Button Head baggie exploded and I gathered them all up and stuck them into a Gridfinity box.
IMG_20230128_124157391.jpg

So, armed with my speed square, some miscellaneous Allen Keys, and my wife's pretty, pretty, pink scale, I fought the frame (and the kids).
IMG_20230128_130925220.jpg
IMG_20230128_133151725.jpg

Time for the Front Idlers and the Motor Mounts.
IMG_20230128_134714869.jpg