What's new
VORON Design

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members!

Voron V0.2 Formbot kit

ChrisA

Introduction.​

My current printer is an Anet A6 bought as a kit in perhaps 2016. It is an i3 clone with a laser cut acrylic frame. The first thing I did was print some braces to reinforce the frame and then I printed more that allow the printer to be screwed down to a workbench. With the printer firmly now part of a built-in bench it does not move at all and does acceptable work in PLA. My interest in 3D printing comes from my "real" interest in robotics. I am working on version 2.0 of a small quadruped "dog" robot.

Professionally I worked as an engineer in the defense aerospace industry here in Southern California, doing mostly software although I have some formal education in electrical engineering. But mostly I wrote software related to missiles, radars, rockets, and communications. I was able to retire early and had a short second career teaching high school science. Now I am really retired. I have time to work on these printers while trying to ride a road bicycle 100+ miles a week (that's the goal) and spend at least four weeks on the trail in the Serrias (that's the goal.)

My initial plan was to build a V2.4 but I want it customized to print at least two materials. That means IDEX, ERCF or the new "Tap Changer". All of these are not yet 100% mature and I also want a smaller printer that does not take 40 minutes to come up to temperature and will fit on my desk. 120 mm cubed is enough space to make most of my robot parts and also all of the Voron v2.4 parts. I will use the V0 to build a customized V2 next year.

There are already so many of these build logs online. So why do one more? I hope to address things that others don't

Log, Feb 7, 2024​