What's new
VORON Design

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members!

What Version of What Slicer in 2024?

Hi all,

I'm new to Voron, but have been designing and printing parts for a few years now. Having moved from Afinia (proprietary required slicer) to Prusa (keeping Prusa Slicer up to date) to Voron, I thought I would move to SuperSlicer. When I went to download it, I noticed that the stable version is about 18 months old now.

I generally use the stable versions, but I'm wondering if the community has identified a more recent build that is stable enough and improves functionality enough to warrant using it? Or for example, if any of the recent Orca Slicer builds are giving SuperSlicer a solid challenge.

Thanks n advance for any input.

OrcaSlicer is a solid bet right now. It's an active project, with regular releases, and a lot of community momentum.

I wrote a little bit just this morning about how the Slic3r-based slicer environment has changed over the past couple years:

Another alternative is SuperSlicer, which recently came back to life after an hiatus from the author (due to Real Life Problems™). It needs to catch up some updates from PrusaSlicer, but is a solid alternative, the preferred for many in the Discord server and the one with most content created by the community, like the awesome Ellis' Print Tuning Guide.

I really like Orca the most right now and Prusa slicer is my second go to. I stopped using Super Slicer about a year ago due to the lack of support but as mentioned its coming back.

Hi all,