What's new
VORON Design

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members!

Orange Pi for SBC instead of Raspberry Pi?

7milesup

Hello Everyone. New to the forum here and just starting my Voron 2.4r build. I have owned a Prusa for five years, but it is time to upgrade. The mechanical side of the build is the easy part for me. I am a hobby machinist with a shop full of equipment. I just completed the frame build of the Voron, utilizing my 4'x5' Blanchard ground table. It came out perfectly! BUT, when it comes to electronics, that would be my weak point. I have worked with Basic and Fortran, but that was 35 years ago, LOL.
As everyone knows, Raspberry Pi's are hard to find, and if you do find one, they are very expensive. In light of that, I purchased an Orange Pi 3 LTS with the hopes of getting Klipper to run. I downloaded Armbian, Balena Etcher, and Putty. I was able to get Armbian onto the Micro SD, and I thought installed on the Emmc on the Orange Pi. However, when I powered down the OPi and restarted with what I thought would have been a boot from the Emmc, the OPi loaded its default Android OS.
Since I am extremely new to the software side of this build, my order of operations was going to be to install Armbian (maybe I should use Debian instead?) and then Fuidd and Klipper. I was originally going to use Octoprint but not sure if that is a good route to go or not.
Sorry for the long, disjointed post. It would be really great if someone had the Orange Pi 3 LTS implementation process documented. I did run across this one blog post, but he uses a different Orange Pi.

Last edited: