What's new
VORON Design

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members!

Formbot Voron 2.4r2 "Bruiser" build log

Bionicall

Welcome to my build log of the "Bruiser" Formbot 2.4r2.
A little bit about me, I am an Electrical Engineer that has been 3D printing for a little over 5 years on a very basic Ender 3.
A mate at work convinced me that I needed to build a Voron, and thus the story starts.
It all starts with a box of bits:
StartingBits.jpg

The main reason I am doing a build log is to highlight the mistakes that I have made along the way, in the hope that others can learn from them.

My first mistake was buying an upgrade, without being aware of what that entails.
In this case it meant that I couldn't just follow the manual, this doesn't seem a big issue, but for someone that struggles to seek help, this was quite an big deal.
Credit where it is due, the manuals for the Voron, and Stealthburner are incredibly well written and just beg to be followed.
Well at least until you can't.
My kit came with TAP, toolhead PCB and hardwearing gears, and these things are great.... if you can figure out what they change.
The TAP for example meant that I didn't have a Z-stop, or an inductive probe, and crucially the a/b belts are secured with a different part!
The toolhead PCB means more convenient wiring for the Stealthburner..... if I could figure out what the wiring actually is.
The hardwearing gears are excellent, but it does mean that there is some confusion when it comes to comparing what I have, to what is actually in the manual.

I have worked through these issues now, and I intend to update this post with the links to the TAP manual and for the specific toolhead PCB that Formbot provided.
Tap manual link: